Ch. Lal Singh did his graduation from the University of Jammu during the year 1981-82. He was inspired from his father who besides being a social worker was also in active politics and had contested Assembly Elections as Democratic National Conference (DNC) candidate in 1962. Ch. Lal Singh started his political career at an early age and was an active student leader from 1977 to 1982. He joined Labour Movement and worked very hard for the welfare of labour class, students, farmers and hitherto neglected masses. He remained convener of Students Youth Federation (SYF) during 1978-82 and also district president of Jammu Mahasabha. He was State Youth President of Congress (T), State General Secretary of Congress (T), Chief Whip of Congress (I) for four years and was elected as Member, J&K Legislative Assembly in the year 1996 on Congress (T) ticket from Basohli Constituency.

He was re-elected in 2002 from the same constituency and was inducted in the Council of Ministers in 2003 as Minister for Health and Medical Education in PDP – Congress coalition Government headed by Late Shri Mufti Mohammad Syed. He was elected as Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha) twice from Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency and served as member of various Parliamentary Committees. He was elected as Member, J&K Legislative Assembly for the third time in 2014 General Elections on BJP mandate from Basohli Constituency and was inducted in the State Cabinet as Minister for Health and Medical Education, ARI & Trainings. In March 2016, he was assigned the charge of Minister for Forests, Ecology and Environment.


Mr. Zahoor Ahmad Mir, Hon’ble Minister of State for Forests, Ecology and Environment, Animal & Sheep Husbandry, Cooperative and Fisheries (J&K) was born on 24.02.1972 in Konibal(J&K). He has been a social activist and rose to be the MLA, J&K Legislative Assembly from J&K PDP in the year 2003. He has been consecutively elected to the Legislative Assembly in 2008 and 2014 from Pampore Constituency.

He was awarded Certificate of Excellence (Rashtriya Gaurav Award) by Dr Bhishma Narain Singh, Hon'ble Former Governor of Assam & Tamil Nadu at a Seminar on Economic Growth and National Integration at New Delhi on 11th July 2007 in recognition of his meritorious services and outstanding performance and remarkable role in economic gowth and national integration. Moreover, he has also been awarded the Adarsh Yuva Vidhayak Puraskar by the Indian Student Parliament in recognition of his hard work and commitment as a prominent promoter of parliamentary democracy in strengthening the fabric of Indian democratic leadership.